Thursday, August 13, 2020
Username Password
Home » Education » Leading Brisbane catholic education teachers honoured with awards
Free digital edition during COVID-19

Leading Brisbane catholic education teachers honoured with awards


Winning educators: Archbishop Mark Coleridge (back right) and Brisbane Catholic Education executive director Pam Betts (back left), with award winners (back) Colleen Hughes and Cara Robinson-Taylor; and (sitting from left) Nidean Dickson, Luisa Marinelli, Lyn Nothdurft, Ian Sweeney and Kate Ruddy; and (below) Archbishop Coleridge and Ms Betts congratulate Excellence in Teaching (more than four years) award winner Jane Greffe.

BRISBANE Catholic Education has recognised its most remarkable teachers at an Excellence in Teaching Awards gala evening.

More than 24 finalists were picked from hundreds of nominations for seven prestigious awards that recognise excellence in learning and teaching throughout BCE.

Family, friends and guests gathered at Victoria Park Golf Club to witness Archbishop Mark Coleridge, BCE executive director Pam Betts and deputy director Dr Doug Ashleigh congratulate the winners.

Archbishop Coleridge presented Colleen Hughes, from St Rita’s School, Victoria Point, with the Excellence in Teaching Religious Education Award and Cara Robinson-Taylor, from San Sisto College, Carina, with her Excellence in Leadership for Learning and Teaching Award.

Nidean Dickson, from Mary MacKillop College, Nundah, received the Excellence as an Early Career Teacher Award (one to four years) while the Excellence in Teaching (more than four years) Award went to Jane Greffe, from Marymount College, Burleigh Waters.

The Smart Team, from St Columban’s College, Caboolture, claimed the Team Excellence in Learning and Teaching title while Outstanding Contribution to Learning and Teaching Award (more than 20 years) went to Lyn Nothdurft, from St Patrick’s College, Gympie.

Luisa Marinelli, from Mt Maria College, Mitchelton, received the Excellence in Mentoring Award for her desire to “give back” to her community.

This year awardees were surprised with a video from their principals congratulating them.

Archbishop Coleridge said the awards were an excellent opportunity to acknowledge teachers, all teachers, who, every day in their practise in both formal and informal interactions with students, layed foundations for the future.

He said the teachers, leaders and mentors, both new and experienced, either individually or in teams, had rightly been recognised by their peers as exemplary.

“Each nominee should feel justifiably proud of this nomination,” he said.

“Every day in your classrooms you skilfully open eyes to the world, engender curiosity and confidence and shape lives.”

Ms Betts congratulated the winners and all the other finalists who attended.

She said it was important to acknowledge those who shone in their endeavours.

Ms Betts said the awards recognised the excellent ways in which the nominees worked to nurture the growth of students in Catholic schools, either in teaching, leading, mentoring or governance.

“Too often in our society we focus on the negative rather than the positive and there is so much positive in our teachers to celebrate,” she said.

“Teachers help build the future by providing opportunities for positive outcomes in the lives of young people today.”

Ms Betts also thanked sponsors Teachers Union Health, Queensland Teachers Mutual Bank, Australian Catholic University, Queensland Independent Education and CareSuper for their support.

Written by: Staff writers
Catholic Church Insurance

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top